Hello world!

Route 66 to my next adventure…

I’ve been wanting to write for a while so I thought a good way to get started and begin sharpening my skills would be a Blog.  Since my wife turned me into a foodie I guess a food Blog is a natural choice.

Here’s what I think you need to know in order to calibrate my opinions to yours, I call it the Eischens’ test.  If you think Eischens’ (Eischens’ is a fried chicken joint in OK that many people revere, Guy Fieri is NOT one of them) is great fried chicken we will probably not agree on much.  If you think Langers’ Deli has the best Pastrami in the West and maybe the East too, you will probably agree with my opinions (Langers’ is a Jewish Deli in LA next to MacArthur Park).

I love my food and usually have a strong opinion.  Having lived on both coast and in the middle, and from the swamps to the highlands, I have sampled a pretty wide array of food.  While I appreciate haute cuisine my fav’s are mom and pop joints that are not on the radar.  A quirky atmosphere is great with me although I am at home with white table cloths and having a jacket required.

I want to focus on the OKC food scene in hopes of finding the best there is around here and sharing that information, but at the same time being brutally honest with the typically uninspired fare of most joints.  To be honest, I am REALLY hopeful of finding places I can gush about but I will not be kind to those restaurants that are going through the motions.  In addition I’ll talk about some of my favorites found on road trips from coast to coast as well as any stinkers I think you may want to avoid.

I hope you enjoy my thoughts.

Leave a comment