Sweeney McGanns

If you are tired of the same old same old, you need to try Sweeney McGann’s—but you need to hurry. More about that in a minute, first lets talk about the food. It is a refreshing change up for the Edmondites looking for something different. While greasy burgers or Mexi are de rigueur in this town, this little Irish Pub/Sports Bar has additional offerings. While my son does love their burgers its the Corned Beef I go that draws me there. They bake the beef instead of boiling which intensifies the flavor but still leaves it tender. The corned beef and cabbage is a great way to go if you want to get your beef on, but the corned beef on rye sandwich is why I go there. I have been searching for a decent CB on rye for 4 years in OK and this is the only one, let me repeat that, THE ONLY ONE, that has come up to scratch. This is not the best CB I have ever had (that distinction falls to Langers’ in the Rampart district of LA) but it by far the best I have had in Oklahoma. In addition they do occasional specials like Oxtail! Try to find that somewhere else! The only food that is not freshly prepared is the Fish and Chips and even that is surprisingly good, its not greasy and you can taste the Guinness in the batter. Speaking of Guinness, This is the first perfect pour I’ve had in OK, the owner had to do it, but by God I got one. I nearly got the shakes looking at the beauty of it. The food is simple, clean tasting and fresh with entrees supporting the usual sandwich fare found in pubs. I would love to see some bangers and mash, and shepherds pie to round out the Irish side of the menu but ce la vie.

The décor is nice if sparse. It presents as a sports bar with massive TV’s all around and a few banners. The walls are a comforting shade of tan and the tables though tall are finished plywood that is warm and inviting. I would love to see some banquettes that hold 6 packs and some support of the local high school sports teams.

Now why should you hurry to go there? Simple, I’m not sure they will be around. While the food is very good it takes a long time to be served. On three visits it has taken 40, 40 and 20 minutes respectively to get the food. While the owner let me know that he had made changes to the kitchen to correct the timing it may be too little too late. In addition the restaurant does not make it easy for those with children which is a big slice of the Edmond pie. As I said the tables are all tall pub style 4 seaters. So those with younger children or larger groups are challenged a bit. When you enter it can be confusing as to whether this is for 21 and ups or if children are welcome. If you take the time to ask you will find out they most certainly are, even though they are not catered to.

The food is good enough and I am desperate enough for it, to keep coming back for a taste of something different. I recommend Sweeney McGann’s and really hope they succeed.20150920_175610[1]

Leave a comment